Current Appellate Competitions

American Bar Association’s Regional Arbitration Competition
November 18-19, 2017
Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA

Congratulations to Duquesne Law's team of second-year students Aaron McDonough, Brazitte Poole, Lydia Wardi, and Ashlyn Grim, who placed third in the region and advanced to the national finals of the ABA's Arbitration Competition. The team will be one of only 10 teams from across the country to compete there. The team of Patrick Young, Grant Olson, Kate McCarthy, and Jacob Mellor also had a great showing at the competition. Alums Devon Ferris, Ryan Wilk, and Jeff Childs coached both teams. 

Team 1: Grant Olson, William P. Young, Kate McCarthy, and Jacob Mellor


Team 2: Ashlyn Mathosiah Grim, Lydia Wardi, Brazitte Poole, and Aaron McDonough


American Bar Association’s National Arbitration Competition
January 18-21, 2018
Chicago, IL

Congratulations to our Appellate Moot Court Board team of Brazitte Poole, Lydia Wardi, Aaron McDonough, and Ashlyn Grim for an excellent performance at the American Bar Asociation's National Arbitration Competition in Chicago. The group placed at the regional competition in November, making it one of only 10 teams to advance to nationals.

The second-year students quickly advanced to the semi-finals as the third-place seed. Although the group lost in the semi-finals in a split decision, it ended the competition as one of the top 4 teams in the country.

Devon Ferris, L’16, coached the students. Adjunct Professors Pete Giglione, L’02, Frank Stoy, L’12, and Erin Karsman helped to prepare the team for the national competition. Karsman, the Appellate Advocacy Program coordinator, also accompanied the students to Chicago.

Congratulations to the Appellate Moot Court Board on this tremendous success!

Erin Karsman - Program Coordinator, Brazitte Poole, Lydia Wardi,
       Aaron McDonough, Ashlyn Grim, Devon Ferris -  Coach


National Appellate Advocacy Competition
February 22-24, 2018
Brooklyn, NY

Team 1:  Alyssa Lazar, Amy Kerlin, and Amanda Geary


Team 2:  Nicoline van de Haterd, Alfred J. Vogt, and Taylor Wantz


National Energy & Sustainability Moot Court Competition
March 8-10, 2018
West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV

Team 1:  Adam Duh, Amy McCrossen and Vincent LeDonne


Team 2:  Michele Mellick, Mauri Perri, and Taylor Frey
Student Coach:  Katherine Leonard


John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Competition
March 16 - 17, 2018
Newark, NJ

Lisle Weaver, Christian Hakim, and Matthew Goddard


Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition
March 22-24, 2018
Seattle, WA

Karissa Murphy and Allen Page


Thurgood Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition (Federal Bar)
March 22-23, 2018
Washington, D.C.

Team 1:  Nicolette Blackwell and Drew Sheldon


Team 2:  Adrienne Box and Samantha Zimmer


Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition
March 23-24, 2018
Washington, D.C.

Dominic Carrola and Samuel Nolan